Kit Carson County

Marriage Licensing

 

In accordance with the requirements below, a license to marry in Colorado may be obtained in the Office of the Kit Carson County Clerk and Recorder, located in the Kit Carson County Courthouse on the Second Floor, Monday thru Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (except holidays). The license is valid upon receipt, and must be used within 35 days anywhere within the State of Colorado. There is a $30.00 fee required. A license issued by another state is not valid in Colorado

APPLICATION:

Both the bride and the groom must complete and sign the marriage application form. At least one of the parties must apply in person before the marriage clerk. If one of the parties cannot appear in person, he or she must complete an affidavit received from our office, which requires a notarized signature. A couple already married, who wish to renew their marriage vows, or those who have a common law marriage may obtain a license by stating that they are married to each other. Applicants for a marriage license need not be Colorado residents.

 

Get started by submitting your marriage license application information online. Detailed instructions for online application will be coming soon.

AGE: The requirements for the bride and groom are the same:

  • 18 and older - No parental consent is required.
  • 16 & 17 - Consent of both parents, or the parent having sole legal custody, or guardian, or judicial approval (court order) is required.
  • Under 16 - Consent of both parents, or the parent who has legal custody or with whom the child is living and judicial approval (court order) are required.

PROOF OF DATE OF BIRTH MUST BE FURNISHED BY BOTH PARTIES:

Example: driver's license, birth certificate, passport, military identification, or other comparable evidence.

PREVIOUS MARRIAGE:

If either party has previously been married, the date, place, and court in which the marriage was dissolved or declared invalid or the date and place of death of the former spouse will need to be provided.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

We will need to have both of your parents full names and their present addresses, if living; and your social security number.

BLOOD TEST:

As of July 1, 1989, blood tests are not required for either party in the State of Colorado.

PROHIBITED MARRIAGES:

A couple may not marry when one of the parties is still married to another person. Marriage between ancestor and descendant (e.g., uncle and niece) or brother and sister, whether the relationship is by half or the whole blood, is prohibited. Marriage between cousins is permitted in Colorado. (See 14-2-110, Colorado Revised Statutes, for additional information).

APPLICATION:

Both the bride and the groom must complete and sign the marriage application form. At least one of the parties must apply in person before the marriage clerk. If one of the parties cannot appear in person, he or she must complete an affidavit received from our office, which requires a notarized signature. A couple already married, who wish to renew their marriage vows, or those who have a common law marriage may obtain a license by stating that they are married to each other. Applicants for a marriage license need not be Colorado residents.

CEREMONY:

A marriage may be solemnized by a judge of a court, by a court magistrate, by a retired judge of a court, by a public official whose powers include solemnization of marriages, by the parties to the marriage, or in accordance with any mode of solemnization recognized by any religious denomination or Indian nation or tribe.

LICENSE:

The person solemnizing the marriage shall complete the marriage certificate form and forward it to the County Clerk and Recorder within sixty-three days after solemnizing. Failure to do so shall result in a late fee of not less than $20.00, payable by the solemnizing person or party, an additional $5.00 late fee may be assessed for each additional day of failure to comply with the forwarding requirements up to a maximum of $50.00. For purposes of determining whether a late fee shall be assessed the date of forwarding shall be deemed to be the date of the postmark. CRS 14-2-109(1)

To request a copy of Marriage License Application, click here for the required form.

CIVIL UNION:

All information provided for obtaining a marriage license is the same for obtaining a Civil Union license. Please refer to information above.

NAME CHANGE INFORMATION:

Please note that in Colorado you must change your name with the Social Security Administration prior to changing your Driver License.

Social Security Administration can be contacted at 1-800-772-1213 or online at
www.socialsecurity.gov.

Driver License requirements for name change can be found on the
Colorado Department of Revenue website.
Website Builder